The Playlist That Never Was, or Back to the Vault Pt. 2

More songs from the playlist I would have played on the Deep River Music Vault.

6. Adrian Belew and David Bowie, “Pretty Pink Rose” (Young Lions, 1990)

The followup to 1989’s “Mr. Music Head,” “Lions” continued to present a more accessible, single-friendly Belew and included covers of tracks by King Crimson (“Heartbeat”) and Traveling Wilburys (“Not Alone Anyore”). This track is one of two Bowie collaborations on the album, the other being “Gunman.”

7. Chicago, “Make Me Smile” (Chicago II, 1970)

The minimally edited version. Simply brilliant.

8. Gil Scott Heron, “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised” (Small Talk at 125th and Lenox, 1970)

I was 20 years old, living in Iowa and working in a chain record store in a mall. Suffice it to say my tastes and experience were limited. My boss put on “The Best of Gil Scott-Heron” and I still can’t find words to talk about it.

9. Steely Dan, “Daddy Don’t Live in that New York City No More” (Katy Lied, 1975)

Just cooler than shit.

10. The Cars, “Take What You Want” (Live at the Agora, Cleveland 1978)

The best live version of this track I’ve heard. A double vinyl release of this show was a 2017 Record Store Day release; maybe it will spread the word that in the early days, the Cars really were loose and edgy live. Check out Elliot Easton’s solo – fans will recognize a few bars that later found their way into “Dangerous Type.”

9 thoughts on “The Playlist That Never Was, or Back to the Vault Pt. 2

  1. A solid list. Some thoughts:

    Never heard “Pretty Pink Rose.” Bowie saved a good song for Belew’s album. I have mixed feelings about Belew’s guitar playing in general. He’s unusual for sure but not always to my taste. As to Chicago, I think you already know I’m a big fan. I first heard “Make Me Smile” blaring out of the speakers at a record store in Manhattan. Bought the single on the spot. My wife and I are Scott-Heron fans. We saw him in Boston once. I did a post on him back when I first started. Steely Dan have few bad songs. ‘Citizen’ is great for a long car ride. As to the Cars, boy that one goes back. Their album was barely out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I have to admit most of Belew’s stuff is kind of out there for me. I have the two most accessible albums in Young Lions and Mr. Music Head (saw that tour; my friend and I were the only women there) but King Crimson is beyond me.

      Like

      1. I haven’t listened to Crimson in years. Didn’t dislike them but never a huge fan. Funny about your concert-going experience. My wife and I saw the Allman in 2011 and she said it was “guy music.”😁 I don’t know about that but that was her take. Bought the show, listening to it as I type this.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

